AutoNation vs EchoPark: selling your car online to a dealer group, side by side

AutoNation vs EchoPark from their own sell pages: both offers last 7 days or 500 miles and redeem in store. EchoPark adds $500 for selling within 48 hours.

AutoNation and EchoPark are the two big dealer groups in our comparison that will buy your car off an online appraisal without you buying anything from them. On paper they look like the same product: an offer in minutes, good for 7 days or 500 miles, redeemed at a store after a quick look at the car. The differences are in the bonus, the payment and what each one says about the car's condition on the day. Everything below comes from each company's own sell page as we verified it on 2026-10-15.

AutoNationEchoPark
ParentAutoNation store networkSonic Automotive
Fee to get an offerNone statedNone stated
Offer window7 days or 500 miles, whichever comes first7 days or 500 miles, whichever comes first
BonusNone statedExtra $500 on top of the online offer if you sell within 48 hours of receiving it
Where you redeemA local AutoNation store, after a physical inspectionAn EchoPark location, where they confirm the online quote matches the car on-site
Home pickupNot statedNot stated
PaymentSame day, on the spot: check or instant ZelleCheck or trade credit
Loan on the carHandles the loan payoff deductionNot stated
Condition clauseInspection confirms the car matches the details you providedCar must be in the same condition as at the time of the offer
Vehicles acceptedAll conditionsNot stated

Same window, same catch: 7 days or 500 miles, confirmed in store

Both offers expire on the same rule: 7 days or 500 miles, whichever comes first. That second limit matters if the nearest store is far away or you keep commuting in the car while you decide, because the mileage clock runs independently of the calendar. Both also make the online number conditional on the car showing up as described. AutoNation says it needs a physical inspection at a local store to confirm the car matches the details you gave. EchoPark says it confirms the online quote matches the car on-site, and that the car must be in the same condition as when the offer was made. Neither page states a home pickup option, so in both cases you are driving the car to a store and the offer is only final once someone there has looked at it.

EchoPark's $500 for moving fast

The one line that separates the two on price is EchoPark's bonus: an extra $500 on top of the online offer if you sell within 48 hours of receiving it. After that, the offer simply stays good for the remaining 7 days or 500 miles with no bonus. AutoNation's page states no equivalent. The practical read is that EchoPark is paying you to skip the comparison shopping. If you already have a CarMax or Carvana number in hand before you request the EchoPark one, you can judge the $500 against them inside the two-day window rather than guessing.

How you get paid, and what happens to a loan

AutoNation is the more specific of the two on money. Its page states same-day, on-the-spot payment after the inspection, by check or instant Zelle, and that it handles the loan payoff deduction when you still owe on the car. It also states that it buys vehicles in all conditions. EchoPark states payment as a check or trade credit, which is the path to use if you intend to buy your next car from them. Its sell page does not state a loan payoff process, a same-day timing, or an electronic payment option, so if you need the money in your account the day you hand over the keys, AutoNation's Zelle line is the only one of the two that promises it in writing.

How they compare to the sites that come to you

Against the rest of the market, both of these are drive-in buyers. Carvana's drop-off at its hubs is always free and its home pickup carries an additional service charge for customers in specific locations. CarMax offers a store appointment or home pickup, with distance restrictions and a fee that may apply. GiveMeTheVin and Wheelzy pick up for free, though GiveMeTheVin's bids are good for only 12 hours, and Wheelzy skews to junk, wrecked and non-running vehicles. Where AutoNation and EchoPark win is the window and the certainty of a retailer standing behind the offer. Where they lose is convenience: if a store is not nearby, the 500-mile cap and the drive both count against you.

Our pick between the two depends on one question. If you want cash the same day and still have a loan on the car, AutoNation states both the Zelle payment and the payoff handling. If you are ready to sell inside two days, or you plan to trade toward another car, EchoPark's $500 bonus and trade-credit path are the stated advantages. Sources and every other buyer we track are on our full comparison: Best Ways to Sell Your Car Online.

Keep reading

Related reading

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan: price, free tier, supported sims and how each one coaches you, side by side

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan, from their own pricing pages: annual-only with a 7-day trial vs free forever at the base, sim lists, setups and how each coaches.

Updated 2026-10-15 · 4 min read

Carvana vs CarMax for selling your car online: offer window, drop-off, pickup fees and payment, side by side

Carvana and CarMax both give a 7-day online offer and pay on the spot. Where they differ: free drop-off, home pickup charges, plate lookups and the inspection clause.

Updated 2026-10-14 · 4 min read

Does this online car buyer serve your state? Coverage for Carvana, Wheelzy, WhipFlip and more

All 50 states, 45 states, the contiguous US, 86 branches or five states: what each car-buying site says about where it actually operates, and what to check first.

Updated 2026-10-13 · 4 min read

Best Forza Motorsport telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names Forza, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Forza: a free live voice engineer and three second-screen dashboards. What each does with Forza, what it costs, and the analysis gap.

Updated 2026-10-12 · 4 min read

Best RaceRoom telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists RaceRoom, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name RaceRoom: two free voice engineers, a dashboard with an AI instructor, overlays and a second-screen app. Prices from each site.

Updated 2026-10-11 · 4 min read

Sim racing telemetry on Mac: which apps run on macOS, which need a Windows PC, and what each costs

Only two of 20 verified sim racing tools state a Mac client. Here is what runs on macOS, what needs a Windows PC on the network, and what each costs.

Updated 2026-10-09 · 4 min read

Best Gran Turismo 7 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names GT7, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Gran Turismo 7: a free live voice engineer, one paid coaching platform and two phone dashboards. What each does with GT7, and the cost.

Updated 2026-10-08 · 4 min read

Best rFactor 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists rF2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name rFactor 2: two free voice race engineers, one lap analyzer, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-07 · 4 min read

Best Automobilista 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists AMS2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name Automobilista 2: a live voice coach, two lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-06 · 4 min read

Best Assetto Corsa telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the original AC, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name the original Assetto Corsa: two voice apps, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and three dashboards. Eight are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-05 · 4 min read

Best ACC telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists Assetto Corsa Competizione, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name Assetto Corsa Competizione on their own sites: three voice apps, four lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. Six are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-04 · 4 min read

Best iRacing telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists iRacing, and what each costs

Thirteen sim racing tools name iRacing on their own sites: three voice apps, seven lap analyzers, an overlay suite and two dashboards. Ten cost nothing to start.

Updated 2026-10-03 · 4 min read

Best F1 25 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the game, and what each costs

Six sim racing tools list F1 25 on their own sites: two live voice coaches and four dashboard or telemetry apps. Four more name another F1 game or no version.

Updated 2026-10-02 · 4 min read

Best Le Mans Ultimate telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists LMU, and what each costs

Seven sim racing tools list Le Mans Ultimate on their own sites: two live voice coaches, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a second-screen dash.

Updated 2026-10-01 · 4 min read

Best sim racing overlays: which apps put telemetry on your screen, which are free and what the rest cost

Which sim racing apps draw overlays and HUDs over your game, which are free and what the paid tiers cost: RaceLab, SimHub, Trophi.ai and four more.

Updated 2026-09-30 · 4 min read

Can you sell a car without a title online? What each buyer states about titles, liens and paperwork

Which online car buyers take a car without a title, who handles a loan payoff, who does the title work free and who charges for it, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-29 · 4 min read

Which sim racing apps are still being updated? Version numbers, newest supported games and end-of-life notes, by tool

Trophi.ai and Track Titan list F1 26, Race Dash shows a June 2026 release, Crew Chief's games stop at F1 2019, iSpeed's Windows list at 8. What each site shows.

Updated 2026-09-28 · 4 min read

Sim racing software for teams and sim centers: who sells a team or commercial license, and what it costs

Trophi.ai's 3-license Team plan, RaceLab's €299 commercial seat, Z1 Dashboard Pro and Garage 61's free team data: what multi-driver and business use costs.

Updated 2026-09-21 · 4 min read

Are online car buyers legit? The track record each site actually states

Trustpilot scores, BBB grades, parent companies, branch counts and written guarantees: the proof each online car buyer puts on its own page, and what it leaves out.

Updated 2026-09-19 · 5 min read

Are free sim racing apps really free? What every free tier holds back

Track Titan, VRS, SimHub, RaceLab, Garage 61 and more: what each free sim racing tier includes, and the exact limit each tool's own site puts on it.

Updated 2026-09-18 · 4 min read

Will your online car offer drop at pickup? Which buyers guarantee the price, and which re-inspect first

Carvana, CarMax, Peddle, Wheelzy and more: which online car buyers say the quoted number is final, and which make it conditional on an inspection.

Updated 2026-09-17 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools that don't show a price: what SimHub, Popometer, Garage 61 and MoTeC actually tell you about cost

Eight sim racing tools sell a paid tier without printing the number. What each site does state, where the charge sits, and the priced rivals to compare against.

Updated 2026-09-16 · 5 min read

Do you have to buy a car to sell yours online? Which instant offers pay cash, and which double as trade credit

No buyer we track requires a purchase. KBB, EchoPark and Driveway state a trade path; AutoNation and WhipFlip state loan payoff. From each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-14 · 4 min read

Selling your car privately online: what PrivateAuto, Cars.com, KBB and Dealr charge, and what you still do yourself

PrivateAuto charges up to $179, Cars.com and KBB list free, Dealr charges $0 but takes up to two weeks. What each private-sale route handles, from its own site.

Updated 2026-09-13 · 4 min read

How to get multiple offers for your car online, and which sites reward you for shopping around

Every instant car offer we track is free and non-binding, and most last 7 days. How to line them up, who needs no account, and who pays extra when you compare.

Updated 2026-09-12 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools you can buy once: lifetime licenses, one-time unlocks and per-game DLC, by tool

Eight sim racing tools sell a perpetual license, one-time unlock, per-game DLC or donation key instead of a subscription. Prices and gaps, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-11 · 5 min read

Which sim racing apps control your hardware? Haptics, motion rigs, LEDs and button boxes, by tool

Only two sim racing apps drive bass shakers, motion rigs or haptics: SimHub and TrackPro. Two more turn a phone into a button box. Prices, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-10 · 5 min read

Human sim racing coaching vs AI coaching: which tools include a real coach, and what it costs

Only three sim racing tools sell time with a real coach: VRS by the session, Trophi.ai in a $699.99 annual plan, TrackPro as review credits. AI coaching starts free.

Updated 2026-09-09 · 4 min read

How long does an online car offer take? Quote times on Carvana, CarMax, Peddle and more

From 20 seconds to a few minutes: how fast each car-buying site says it shows an offer, what you must enter to get it, and when 'instant' comes with a catch.

Updated 2026-09-08 · 4 min read

Where to get pro reference laps and setups for sim racing, and what they actually cost

Which sim racing tools sell pro driver reference laps and setups, what each tier includes, and the free community-lap alternatives, from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-09-07 · 4 min read

Which sim racing tools coach you during the lap, and which only after

Live voice coaching or after-session analysis? Which sim racing tools intervene mid-lap, which wait until you stop, and what each one charges for it.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 5 min read

Which cars online buyers won't take: age limits, title rules and coverage gaps, by site

Model-year cutoffs, excluded vehicle types, no-title rules, regional coverage and condition clauses on instant-offer car sites, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 4 min read

Which online car buyers pick up your car from home, and who makes you drive to a store?

Eleven online car buyers tow or collect your car for free, Carvana and CarMax may charge for home pickup, and four make you drive in. From each site.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

What a sim racing coaching subscription actually costs per year

Monthly prices hide the real number. Here is what each paid sim racing coaching and telemetry tool costs over twelve months, taken from its own pricing page.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

The sim racing tools that need a second device, and which one

Several sim racing dashboards and telemetry apps will not run on the gaming PC alone. Here is what each one actually requires: a phone, a tablet, a network, or SimHub underneath.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Who actually buys your car when you sell it online

Instant-offer sites look identical from the outside and are not. Some are retailers buying for their own lot, some are salvage networks, and some never buy your car at all.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Which sim racing coaching apps support your sim? iRacing, ACC, Le Mans Ultimate and more

An iRacing driver can use every coaching tool we track; ACC, LMU, AMS2, F1 and GT7 drivers cannot. The sim-by-sim support rundown, from each app's own site.

Updated 2026-08-17 · 4 min read

Where to sell a damaged or non-running car online: the buyers who actually want it

Peddle, CarBrain, DamagedCars, Wheelzy and more — who buys totaled or non-running cars, how fast they pick up, and what the title rules are.

Updated 2026-08-11 · 3 min read

Sim racing telemetry on PS5 and Xbox: which apps actually work on console

Most sim racing telemetry and coaching apps are Windows-only. Here are the ones whose own sites list PS5, Xbox or Gran Turismo support — and the fine print.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How fast do you actually get paid when you sell your car online?

How and when Carvana, CarMax, Wheelzy, AutoNation and other car-buying sites actually pay — cash, check or Zelle, and what the inspection at handover changes.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How long does a car instant offer last? Every site's window, compared

Offer validity windows for Carvana, CarMax, AutoNation, Peddle, Cars.com, GiveMeTheVin and more — as stated on each site.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

"No fees" car buyers: what the fine print actually says

Which sell-your-car services are genuinely free to use, and where fees can still appear — pickup charges, titling fees and listing costs, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

Free vs paid sim racing coaching: what your money actually buys

What the free tiers of sim racing tools include, and what unlocks at each price point — from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

How PickMerit verifies every entry

Our verification method: load the real site, record only what it states, mark everything else as unverified.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read