Do you have to buy a car to sell yours online? Which instant offers pay cash, and which double as trade credit

No buyer we track requires a purchase. KBB, EchoPark and Driveway state a trade path; AutoNation and WhipFlip state loan payoff. From each site's own pages.

The quiet worry behind typing your plate into a sell-my-car page is that the offer is bait for a showroom. Across the buyers we track, not one states that you must buy a car to sell one, and two say so outright: Cars.com describes its dealer offer as carrying 'no obligation to buy a replacement vehicle', and Kelley Blue Book calls its Instant Cash Offer free with no obligation. Where the sites differ is whether the number can be spent as trade credit instead of cash, and where you have to be to collect it.

The offers that work as cash or trade credit

ServiceIf you take cashTrade option (as stated on site)Where the handover happens
Kelley Blue Book Instant Cash OfferPaid by the participating dealer; KBB does not pick up or pay directlyYou choose cash or trade-in; the offer shows exactly what dealers will payIn person at any participating dealer
EchoParkCheckTrade credit; an extra $500 if you sell within 48 hours of the offerBring the car to an EchoPark store; offer good 7 days or 500 miles
DrivewayCheck or digital payment, on the spotThe same offer is usable as trade credit toward a delivered replacementA Driveway valet picks the car up from home
Carvana (Sell/Trade)Check or ACH at the appointmentCombined sell/trade flow; trade terms not stated on the page we verifiedFree drop-off at a Carvana location, or home pickup for an extra charge in specific locations
Cars.com Sell & TradeInstant cash offer from a local dealer, valid 3 business daysNot stated; no obligation to buy a replacement vehicleLocal dealer

Kelley Blue Book is the purest version of the choice because it never touches the car: the offer is redeemed at a participating dealer, and at that counter you decide between cash and trade. Driveway is the only entry that pairs a trade path with a valet, so the credit goes toward a delivered replacement and you never visit a store. EchoPark's trade credit sits behind a store visit, where staff confirm the online quote matches the car. Carvana's sell page is labelled sell-or-trade, but the page we verified states only the cash side: check or ACH at the appointment, after an inspection confirms the car matches the appraisal information.

The buyers that only describe cash, and why that can be the point

Every other buyer in our data describes payment and nothing else: AutoNation by check or instant Zelle after an in-store inspection, CarMax on the spot at a store or home pickup, webuyanycar.com by check, ACH, wire or Zelle at the branch, GiveMeTheVin by check the same business day, Wheelzy in cash on the spot, and CashForCars.com, Peddle and WhipFlip at handover. None of those entries mentions a trade path, and that is not a gap. Trade credit is spent with the retailer that issued it, so it is only worth as much as the car you would buy there. A check goes to any dealer's trade desk, which is exactly what Kelley Blue Book's offer is built to show you before you walk in.

If you still owe on the car

Trading in usually comes up because there is a loan on the car, and only three entries address that. AutoNation states it handles the loan payoff deduction as part of its same-day payment. WhipFlip promises immediate lienholder payoff, though it operates only in Pennsylvania, Ohio, Delaware, New Jersey and part of Minnesota, and its full offer requires a smartphone. DamagedCars.com warns from the other direction: it requires keys, a signed title and vehicle access, and lien-held titles add delay. No other sell page we track mentions a loan, so if you owe money, ask before you accept.

What to check before choosing trade over cash

  • Whether trade and cash are the same number. Driveway states the same offer works either way; EchoPark's extra $500 applies only if you sell within 48 hours.
  • Where you have to be. Kelley Blue Book and EchoPark are redeemed in person; Driveway and Carvana pick up from home, though Carvana's pickup carries an extra charge in specific locations.
  • Whether the number survives inspection. EchoPark requires the car to be in the same condition as at the time of the offer; Carvana pays only after its inspection matches the appraisal.
  • The clock. EchoPark's offer is good 7 days or 500 miles; Cars.com's lasts 3 business days; Kelley Blue Book's validity is not stated on its sell page.
The practical rule: collect the cash number first, since no site we track states a charge for getting it, and treat trade credit as a second offer to compare against it. Every claim above comes from each service's own pages as recorded in our verified dataset. Full cards for every service: Best Ways to Sell Your Car Online.

Keep reading

Related reading

Driveway vs Carvana: selling your car online with home pickup, offer window, pickup fees and payment, side by side

Driveway and Carvana both come to your house and pay on the spot. Driveway's valet is the default; Carvana's pickup can cost extra. What each sell page states.

Updated 2026-10-28 · 4 min read

webuyanycar vs CarMax: selling your car at a branch, offer window, inspection clause and payment methods, side by side

webuyanycar and CarMax both quote online, hold the offer 7 days and pay the day you hand over the car. Where they differ: branches, pickup, Zelle and the adjustment clause.

Updated 2026-10-27 · 5 min read

Still racing Project CARS, rFactor or GTR2? The sim racing apps that still list older games, and what each costs

Which telemetry, dashboard and voice-engineer apps still list Project CARS 1 and 2, rFactor, GTR2, Automobilista and F1 2012-2019, with platforms and prices.

Updated 2026-10-25 · 5 min read

Track Titan vs Coach Dave Delta: free tier, monthly price, setups and supported sims, side by side

Track Titan vs Coach Dave Delta from their own pages: free forever then $7.99/mo, vs $12.49/mo or $109/yr with no free tier; setups, sims and coaching.

Updated 2026-10-24 · 5 min read

CarBrain vs DamagedCars.com: selling a totaled or non-running car online, side by side

CarBrain and DamagedCars.com both quote in 90 seconds, tow for free and pay within 24-48 hours. Where they split: who gets an instant number, coverage, and the title rules.

Updated 2026-10-23 · 4 min read

KBB Instant Cash Offer vs Cars.com: selling your car through a dealer offer or a free listing, side by side

KBB vs Cars.com, side by side: both send you to a dealer to get paid. Cars.com states a 3-business-day offer window and a free listing; KBB states no window.

Updated 2026-10-22 · 4 min read

Coach Dave Delta vs Trophi.ai: price, billing, supported sims and how each one coaches you, side by side

Coach Dave Delta vs Trophi.ai from their own pages: £11.99/mo or £109/yr with no free tier, vs annual-only from $89.99 with a 7-day trial; sims and coaching.

Updated 2026-10-21 · 5 min read

GiveMeTheVin vs CarBuyerUSA: selling your car online to a nationwide buyer that comes to you, side by side

Both quote in under a minute, pick up for free and cover the US. Where GiveMeTheVin and CarBuyerUSA split: a 12-hour bid, a 48-hour inspection, a $100 guarantee.

Updated 2026-10-20 · 5 min read

VRS vs Garage 61 for iRacing: free tiers, pro vs community reference laps and what each costs, side by side

VRS vs Garage 61, from their own sites: both iRacing-only, one sells pro-driver datapacks from $4.99/mo, the other is free in alpha with a €5/mo Pro plan coming.

Updated 2026-10-19 · 5 min read

Peddle vs Wheelzy: selling a junk or damaged car online, side by side

Peddle and Wheelzy both quote instantly, tow for free and pay at pickup. Where they split: the firm-price promise, the 7-day window, coverage and titles.

Updated 2026-10-18 · 4 min read

AutoNation vs EchoPark: selling your car online to a dealer group, side by side

AutoNation vs EchoPark from their own sell pages: both offers last 7 days or 500 miles and redeem in store. EchoPark adds $500 for selling within 48 hours.

Updated 2026-10-16 · 4 min read

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan: price, free tier, supported sims and how each one coaches you, side by side

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan, from their own pricing pages: annual-only with a 7-day trial vs free forever at the base, sim lists, setups and how each coaches.

Updated 2026-10-15 · 4 min read

Carvana vs CarMax for selling your car online: offer window, drop-off, pickup fees and payment, side by side

Carvana and CarMax both give a 7-day online offer and pay on the spot. Where they differ: free drop-off, home pickup charges, plate lookups and the inspection clause.

Updated 2026-10-14 · 4 min read

Does this online car buyer serve your state? Coverage for Carvana, Wheelzy, WhipFlip and more

All 50 states, 45 states, the contiguous US, 86 branches or five states: what each car-buying site says about where it actually operates, and what to check first.

Updated 2026-10-13 · 4 min read

Best Forza Motorsport telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names Forza, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Forza: a free live voice engineer and three second-screen dashboards. What each does with Forza, what it costs, and the analysis gap.

Updated 2026-10-12 · 4 min read

Best RaceRoom telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists RaceRoom, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name RaceRoom: two free voice engineers, a dashboard with an AI instructor, overlays and a second-screen app. Prices from each site.

Updated 2026-10-11 · 4 min read

Sim racing telemetry on Mac: which apps run on macOS, which need a Windows PC, and what each costs

Only two of 20 verified sim racing tools state a Mac client. Here is what runs on macOS, what needs a Windows PC on the network, and what each costs.

Updated 2026-10-09 · 4 min read

Best Gran Turismo 7 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names GT7, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Gran Turismo 7: a free live voice engineer, one paid coaching platform and two phone dashboards. What each does with GT7, and the cost.

Updated 2026-10-08 · 4 min read

Best rFactor 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists rF2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name rFactor 2: two free voice race engineers, one lap analyzer, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-07 · 4 min read

Best Automobilista 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists AMS2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name Automobilista 2: a live voice coach, two lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-06 · 4 min read

Best Assetto Corsa telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the original AC, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name the original Assetto Corsa: two voice apps, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and three dashboards. Eight are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-05 · 4 min read

Best ACC telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists Assetto Corsa Competizione, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name Assetto Corsa Competizione on their own sites: three voice apps, four lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. Six are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-04 · 4 min read

Best iRacing telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists iRacing, and what each costs

Thirteen sim racing tools name iRacing on their own sites: three voice apps, seven lap analyzers, an overlay suite and two dashboards. Ten cost nothing to start.

Updated 2026-10-03 · 4 min read

Best F1 25 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the game, and what each costs

Six sim racing tools list F1 25 on their own sites: two live voice coaches and four dashboard or telemetry apps. Four more name another F1 game or no version.

Updated 2026-10-02 · 4 min read

Best Le Mans Ultimate telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists LMU, and what each costs

Seven sim racing tools list Le Mans Ultimate on their own sites: two live voice coaches, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a second-screen dash.

Updated 2026-10-01 · 4 min read

Best sim racing overlays: which apps put telemetry on your screen, which are free and what the rest cost

Which sim racing apps draw overlays and HUDs over your game, which are free and what the paid tiers cost: RaceLab, SimHub, Trophi.ai and four more.

Updated 2026-09-30 · 4 min read

Can you sell a car without a title online? What each buyer states about titles, liens and paperwork

Which online car buyers take a car without a title, who handles a loan payoff, who does the title work free and who charges for it, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-29 · 4 min read

Which sim racing apps are still being updated? Version numbers, newest supported games and end-of-life notes, by tool

Trophi.ai and Track Titan list F1 26, Race Dash shows a June 2026 release, Crew Chief's games stop at F1 2019, iSpeed's Windows list at 8. What each site shows.

Updated 2026-09-28 · 4 min read

Sim racing software for teams and sim centers: who sells a team or commercial license, and what it costs

Trophi.ai's 3-license Team plan, RaceLab's €299 commercial seat, Z1 Dashboard Pro and Garage 61's free team data: what multi-driver and business use costs.

Updated 2026-09-21 · 4 min read

Are online car buyers legit? The track record each site actually states

Trustpilot scores, BBB grades, parent companies, branch counts and written guarantees: the proof each online car buyer puts on its own page, and what it leaves out.

Updated 2026-09-19 · 5 min read

Are free sim racing apps really free? What every free tier holds back

Track Titan, VRS, SimHub, RaceLab, Garage 61 and more: what each free sim racing tier includes, and the exact limit each tool's own site puts on it.

Updated 2026-09-18 · 4 min read

Will your online car offer drop at pickup? Which buyers guarantee the price, and which re-inspect first

Carvana, CarMax, Peddle, Wheelzy and more: which online car buyers say the quoted number is final, and which make it conditional on an inspection.

Updated 2026-09-17 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools that don't show a price: what SimHub, Popometer, Garage 61 and MoTeC actually tell you about cost

Eight sim racing tools sell a paid tier without printing the number. What each site does state, where the charge sits, and the priced rivals to compare against.

Updated 2026-09-16 · 5 min read

Selling your car privately online: what PrivateAuto, Cars.com, KBB and Dealr charge, and what you still do yourself

PrivateAuto charges up to $179, Cars.com and KBB list free, Dealr charges $0 but takes up to two weeks. What each private-sale route handles, from its own site.

Updated 2026-09-13 · 4 min read

How to get multiple offers for your car online, and which sites reward you for shopping around

Every instant car offer we track is free and non-binding, and most last 7 days. How to line them up, who needs no account, and who pays extra when you compare.

Updated 2026-09-12 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools you can buy once: lifetime licenses, one-time unlocks and per-game DLC, by tool

Eight sim racing tools sell a perpetual license, one-time unlock, per-game DLC or donation key instead of a subscription. Prices and gaps, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-11 · 5 min read

Which sim racing apps control your hardware? Haptics, motion rigs, LEDs and button boxes, by tool

Only two sim racing apps drive bass shakers, motion rigs or haptics: SimHub and TrackPro. Two more turn a phone into a button box. Prices, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-10 · 5 min read

Human sim racing coaching vs AI coaching: which tools include a real coach, and what it costs

Only three sim racing tools sell time with a real coach: VRS by the session, Trophi.ai in a $699.99 annual plan, TrackPro as review credits. AI coaching starts free.

Updated 2026-09-09 · 4 min read

How long does an online car offer take? Quote times on Carvana, CarMax, Peddle and more

From 20 seconds to a few minutes: how fast each car-buying site says it shows an offer, what you must enter to get it, and when 'instant' comes with a catch.

Updated 2026-09-08 · 4 min read

Where to get pro reference laps and setups for sim racing, and what they actually cost

Which sim racing tools sell pro driver reference laps and setups, what each tier includes, and the free community-lap alternatives, from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-09-07 · 4 min read

Which sim racing tools coach you during the lap, and which only after

Live voice coaching or after-session analysis? Which sim racing tools intervene mid-lap, which wait until you stop, and what each one charges for it.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 5 min read

Which cars online buyers won't take: age limits, title rules and coverage gaps, by site

Model-year cutoffs, excluded vehicle types, no-title rules, regional coverage and condition clauses on instant-offer car sites, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 4 min read

Which online car buyers pick up your car from home, and who makes you drive to a store?

Eleven online car buyers tow or collect your car for free, Carvana and CarMax may charge for home pickup, and four make you drive in. From each site.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

What a sim racing coaching subscription actually costs per year

Monthly prices hide the real number. Here is what each paid sim racing coaching and telemetry tool costs over twelve months, taken from its own pricing page.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

The sim racing tools that need a second device, and which one

Several sim racing dashboards and telemetry apps will not run on the gaming PC alone. Here is what each one actually requires: a phone, a tablet, a network, or SimHub underneath.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Who actually buys your car when you sell it online

Instant-offer sites look identical from the outside and are not. Some are retailers buying for their own lot, some are salvage networks, and some never buy your car at all.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Which sim racing coaching apps support your sim? iRacing, ACC, Le Mans Ultimate and more

An iRacing driver can use every coaching tool we track; ACC, LMU, AMS2, F1 and GT7 drivers cannot. The sim-by-sim support rundown, from each app's own site.

Updated 2026-08-17 · 4 min read

Where to sell a damaged or non-running car online: the buyers who actually want it

Peddle, CarBrain, DamagedCars, Wheelzy and more — who buys totaled or non-running cars, how fast they pick up, and what the title rules are.

Updated 2026-08-11 · 3 min read

Sim racing telemetry on PS5 and Xbox: which apps actually work on console

Most sim racing telemetry and coaching apps are Windows-only. Here are the ones whose own sites list PS5, Xbox or Gran Turismo support — and the fine print.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How fast do you actually get paid when you sell your car online?

How and when Carvana, CarMax, Wheelzy, AutoNation and other car-buying sites actually pay — cash, check or Zelle, and what the inspection at handover changes.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How long does a car instant offer last? Every site's window, compared

Offer validity windows for Carvana, CarMax, AutoNation, Peddle, Cars.com, GiveMeTheVin and more — as stated on each site.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

"No fees" car buyers: what the fine print actually says

Which sell-your-car services are genuinely free to use, and where fees can still appear — pickup charges, titling fees and listing costs, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

Free vs paid sim racing coaching: what your money actually buys

What the free tiers of sim racing tools include, and what unlocks at each price point — from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

How PickMerit verifies every entry

Our verification method: load the real site, record only what it states, mark everything else as unverified.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read