How to get multiple offers for your car online, and which sites reward you for shopping around

Every instant car offer we track is free and non-binding, and most last 7 days. How to line them up, who needs no account, and who pays extra when you compare.

None of the car-buying sites we track charge you to get an offer, and none of them bind you to it. That makes comparison shopping the one lever every seller controls: the same car, entered on five sites in an afternoon, gets five numbers you can hold side by side. What matters is how long each number lasts, what you hand over to get it, and whether any site pays you more for the legwork. Here is what each site states.

Which offers you can hold at the same time

ServiceOffer window (as stated on site)What it takes to get the number
Carvana7 daysReal offer in 2 minutes
CarMax7 daysOffer in minutes by license plate or VIN
AutoNation7 days or 500 miles, whichever comes firstOnline appraisal
EchoPark7 days or 500 miles, plus $500 extra if you sell within 48 hoursOnline instant offer
Peddle7 days to accept and schedule pickupInstant offer, no account required
webuyanycar.com7-day offer optionFree instant valuation
Cars.com3 business daysInstant offer from a local dealer
GiveMeTheVin12 hoursPlate or VIN, offer in 60 seconds
CarBuyerUSANot statedPrice in 20 seconds or less, no personal information required
Kelley Blue Book ICONot stated on the sell pageFree, no-obligation offer showing what dealers will pay

Seven of these windows overlap comfortably, so the order you collect them in only matters at the short end. GiveMeTheVin's bids are good for 12 hours, and Cars.com's dealer offer for 3 business days, so get the week-long offers first and the short ones last. Two sites show a number before you commit anything: Peddle asks for no account, and CarBuyerUSA says it shows a price with no personal information required, though it also states that onscreen offers appear only 94% of the time, with some junk vehicles referred elsewhere.

The sites that pay you for comparing

Only one buyer we track ties its price to a competitor's. GiveMeTheVin's guarantee is that it will beat CarMax and Carvana, 'or we'll mail you a $100 check', which is only useful if you already have those two numbers in hand when you ask for its bid. EchoPark pulls in the opposite direction: its extra $500 applies if you sell within 48 hours of receiving the offer, after which the plain offer runs for 7 days or 500 miles. That bonus is real, but it is priced to stop you shopping, so the honest comparison is EchoPark's number plus $500 against the best of everything else you collected. Kelley Blue Book's Instant Cash Offer is the reference point rather than a buyer: it shows what participating dealers will pay and is redeemed in person at one of them, for cash or trade, and KBB itself never picks up the car or pays you.

Trackers and brokers that shop for you

If you are not selling this week, two of the big retailers will keep quoting you. Carvana's Value Tracker and CarMax's Offer Watch both monitor your car's value over time, which turns a one-off offer into a running price you can act on when it suits. Dealr, which is operated by the same team as PickMerit, takes the shopping off your hands entirely: it values the car in about 30 seconds, then its agent negotiates across hundreds of buyers, from dealers and national buyers to auction networks and private buyers, at $0 in fees. Its stated trade-off is speed: a typical sale completes in under 2 weeks, where instant-offer buyers pay same-day at pickup. Cars.com covers the other route, pairing its dealer offer with a free private listing on its marketplace, with no costs or hidden fees to selling the car yourself.

Why the highest number is not always the one you get

  • webuyanycar.com states its valuations 'may be adjusted at our discretion at any time, including prior to or during our in-branch vehicle inspection'.
  • GiveMeTheVin's bids are based on your description, and the affiliate dealer re-inspects the vehicle on arrival.
  • Carvana's final payment happens at the appointment, after an inspection confirms the car matches the appraisal information.
  • CarMax says most sellers qualify on their online details, but 'Some we'll ask to verify in-person'.
  • At the firm end, Wheelzy states 'Your offer is always guaranteed', and Cash Auto Salvage says 'The number you see in the offer is what we pay', with no renegotiation at pickup.
A stack of offers is a stack of conditional numbers, and the biggest is only as good as the inspection behind it. Describe the car the same way on every site, count a conditional offer as conditional, and treat a firm one as worth a little more than its face value. Every claim above comes from each service's own pages on the verification date shown on its card. Full details for all of these services are on our comparison: Best Ways to Sell Your Car Online.

Keep reading

Related reading

Sim racing tools you can buy once: lifetime licenses, one-time unlocks and per-game DLC, by tool

Eight sim racing tools sell a perpetual license, one-time unlock, per-game DLC or donation key instead of a subscription. Prices and gaps, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-11 · 5 min read

Which sim racing apps control your hardware? Haptics, motion rigs, LEDs and button boxes, by tool

Only two sim racing apps drive bass shakers, motion rigs or haptics: SimHub and TrackPro. Two more turn a phone into a button box. Prices, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-10 · 5 min read

Human sim racing coaching vs AI coaching: which tools include a real coach, and what it costs

Only three sim racing tools sell time with a real coach: VRS by the session, Trophi.ai in a $699.99 annual plan, TrackPro as review credits. AI coaching starts free.

Updated 2026-09-09 · 4 min read

How long does an online car offer take? Quote times on Carvana, CarMax, Peddle and more

From 20 seconds to a few minutes: how fast each car-buying site says it shows an offer, what you must enter to get it, and when 'instant' comes with a catch.

Updated 2026-09-08 · 4 min read

Where to get pro reference laps and setups for sim racing, and what they actually cost

Which sim racing tools sell pro driver reference laps and setups, what each tier includes, and the free community-lap alternatives, from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-09-07 · 4 min read

Which sim racing tools coach you during the lap, and which only after

Live voice coaching or after-session analysis? Which sim racing tools intervene mid-lap, which wait until you stop, and what each one charges for it.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 5 min read

Which cars online buyers won't take: age limits, title rules and coverage gaps, by site

Model-year cutoffs, excluded vehicle types, no-title rules, regional coverage and condition clauses on instant-offer car sites, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 4 min read

Which online car buyers pick up your car from home, and who makes you drive to a store?

Eleven online car buyers tow or collect your car for free, Carvana and CarMax may charge for home pickup, and four make you drive in. From each site.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

What a sim racing coaching subscription actually costs per year

Monthly prices hide the real number. Here is what each paid sim racing coaching and telemetry tool costs over twelve months, taken from its own pricing page.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

The sim racing tools that need a second device, and which one

Several sim racing dashboards and telemetry apps will not run on the gaming PC alone. Here is what each one actually requires: a phone, a tablet, a network, or SimHub underneath.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Who actually buys your car when you sell it online

Instant-offer sites look identical from the outside and are not. Some are retailers buying for their own lot, some are salvage networks, and some never buy your car at all.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Which sim racing coaching apps support your sim? iRacing, ACC, Le Mans Ultimate and more

An iRacing driver can use every coaching tool we track; ACC, LMU, AMS2, F1 and GT7 drivers cannot. The sim-by-sim support rundown, from each app's own site.

Updated 2026-08-17 · 4 min read

Where to sell a damaged or non-running car online: the buyers who actually want it

Peddle, CarBrain, DamagedCars, Wheelzy and more — who buys totaled or non-running cars, how fast they pick up, and what the title rules are.

Updated 2026-08-11 · 3 min read

Sim racing telemetry on PS5 and Xbox: which apps actually work on console

Most sim racing telemetry and coaching apps are Windows-only. Here are the ones whose own sites list PS5, Xbox or Gran Turismo support — and the fine print.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How fast do you actually get paid when you sell your car online?

How and when Carvana, CarMax, Wheelzy, AutoNation and other car-buying sites actually pay — cash, check or Zelle, and what the inspection at handover changes.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How long does a car instant offer last? Every site's window, compared

Offer validity windows for Carvana, CarMax, AutoNation, Peddle, Cars.com, GiveMeTheVin and more — as stated on each site.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

"No fees" car buyers: what the fine print actually says

Which sell-your-car services are genuinely free to use, and where fees can still appear — pickup charges, titling fees and listing costs, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

Free vs paid sim racing coaching: what your money actually buys

What the free tiers of sim racing tools include, and what unlocks at each price point — from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

How PickMerit verifies every entry

Our verification method: load the real site, record only what it states, mark everything else as unverified.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read