KBB Instant Cash Offer vs Cars.com: selling your car through a dealer offer or a free listing, side by side

KBB vs Cars.com, side by side: both send you to a dealer to get paid. Cars.com states a 3-business-day offer window and a free listing; KBB states no window.

Kelley Blue Book's Instant Cash Offer and Cars.com Sell & Trade are the two sites in our comparison that are marketplaces first and buyers second. Neither one writes you a check. Both hand you a dealer's number and point you at that dealer, and both also let you list the car to private buyers instead. The differences are the offer window, which cars are shut out, and what each page promises about payment. Everything below comes from each site's own sell page as we verified it, KBB on 2026-10-15 and Cars.com on 2026-10-18.

KBB Instant Cash OfferCars.com Sell & Trade
Who actually buysA participating dealerA local dealer in the Cars.com network
Fee to get an offerFree, no obligationFree
Offer windowNot stated3 business days
Cash or tradeYour choice at the dealer: cash or trade-inCash offer with no obligation to buy a replacement vehicle
Where you redeemIn person at any participating dealerThrough the local dealer that made the offer
Home pickupNone: KBB does not pick up or pay directlyNot stated
Cars excluded from the offerNot statedSalvage or reconstructed titles, vehicles older than 17 model years, flood, hail or fire damage, vehicles under $1,000
Private listing alternativeListings reach buyers on Autotrader and KBB.comFree listing, 'no costs or hidden fees to selling your car yourself'; pre-1992 vehicles excluded
ExtrasBacked by KBB (Cox Automotive)Caramel partnership for financing and delivery

Neither one pays you itself

This is the line that separates both sites from Carvana, CarMax or Peddle. KBB says you see exactly what you'll get for the vehicle in minutes and redeem it at any participating dealer, for cash or trade-in. The weakness sits in the same sentence: KBB does not pick up the car or pay you directly, so the money changes hands at a dealership you drive to. Cars.com describes its offer as an instant cash offer from a local dealer, with no obligation to buy a replacement vehicle, and its page states no pickup option either. In both cases the online number is a dealer's bid, and the dealer is who you finish the deal with. If you want someone to come to your driveway and hand over payment, that is GiveMeTheVin, Wheelzy, Driveway or WhipFlip, not either of these.

The offer window: 3 business days against a blank

Cars.com states that its instant offer is valid for 3 business days. Among the buyers we track, only GiveMeTheVin states a shorter window, at 12 hours, and it is well under the 7 days that Carvana, CarMax, Peddle, AutoNation and EchoPark each state. KBB states no validity period at all. That does not mean the offer lasts forever; it means you only learn the window once a dealer has your details. If you are collecting several offers, get the KBB and Cars.com numbers last, after the 7-day offers are already in hand, so the short or unstated clocks do not run out while you wait on the long ones.

What Cars.com will not quote, and where those cars go instead

Cars.com is the only one of the two that publishes an exclusion list for its instant offer: salvage or reconstructed titles, vehicles older than 17 model years, flood, hail or fire damage, and anything worth under $1,000. Its private listings also exclude pre-1992 vehicles. KBB states no equivalent list, which means not stated rather than accepted. If your car falls into any of those buckets, start with the specialists. CarBrain and DamagedCars.com both buy totaled, non-running and collision-damaged cars with free towing, and both state that pickup and payment typically land 24 to 48 hours after you accept. For a car worth less than $1,000, Cash for Junk Cars Online sets the realistic expectation with typical payouts of $200 to $700.

The free listing route on each

Both sites keep a private-sale door open. The Cars.com listing is free, with no costs or hidden fees to selling the car yourself, and its Caramel partnership covers financing and delivery for the buyer. KBB says its listings reach buyers on Autotrader and KBB.com, though the page we verified states no listing price. The paid alternative, PrivateAuto, charges $29 per listing plus a $150 closing fee, or $75 each if split with the buyer, in exchange for identity verification and verified-funds confirmation before you meet. The free listings give you the audience; the scam protection and paperwork stay yours.

Our pick between the two is about certainty. Cars.com tells you more up front: a 3-business-day window, a no-obligation clause, a published exclusion list and a free listing fallback. KBB offers dealer reach and the Cox Automotive name behind the number, but leaves the window, the exclusions and the listing cost unstated. If you need the rules before you type in your plate, start with Cars.com. If you want the widest set of dealers bidding and are happy to drive to one, KBB is the reference offer everyone else gets measured against. Sources and every other buyer we track are on our full comparison: Best Ways to Sell Your Car Online.

Keep reading

Related reading

Track Titan vs Coach Dave Delta: free tier, monthly price, setups and supported sims, side by side

Track Titan vs Coach Dave Delta from their own pages: free forever then $7.99/mo, vs $12.49/mo or $109/yr with no free tier; setups, sims and coaching.

Updated 2026-10-24 · 5 min read

CarBrain vs DamagedCars.com: selling a totaled or non-running car online, side by side

CarBrain and DamagedCars.com both quote in 90 seconds, tow for free and pay within 24-48 hours. Where they split: who gets an instant number, coverage, and the title rules.

Updated 2026-10-23 · 4 min read

Coach Dave Delta vs Trophi.ai: price, billing, supported sims and how each one coaches you, side by side

Coach Dave Delta vs Trophi.ai from their own pages: £11.99/mo or £109/yr with no free tier, vs annual-only from $89.99 with a 7-day trial; sims and coaching.

Updated 2026-10-21 · 5 min read

GiveMeTheVin vs CarBuyerUSA: selling your car online to a nationwide buyer that comes to you, side by side

Both quote in under a minute, pick up for free and cover the US. Where GiveMeTheVin and CarBuyerUSA split: a 12-hour bid, a 48-hour inspection, a $100 guarantee.

Updated 2026-10-20 · 5 min read

VRS vs Garage 61 for iRacing: free tiers, pro vs community reference laps and what each costs, side by side

VRS vs Garage 61, from their own sites: both iRacing-only, one sells pro-driver datapacks from $4.99/mo, the other is free in alpha with a €5/mo Pro plan coming.

Updated 2026-10-19 · 5 min read

Peddle vs Wheelzy: selling a junk or damaged car online, side by side

Peddle and Wheelzy both quote instantly, tow for free and pay at pickup. Where they split: the firm-price promise, the 7-day window, coverage and titles.

Updated 2026-10-18 · 4 min read

AutoNation vs EchoPark: selling your car online to a dealer group, side by side

AutoNation vs EchoPark from their own sell pages: both offers last 7 days or 500 miles and redeem in store. EchoPark adds $500 for selling within 48 hours.

Updated 2026-10-16 · 4 min read

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan: price, free tier, supported sims and how each one coaches you, side by side

Trophi.ai vs Track Titan, from their own pricing pages: annual-only with a 7-day trial vs free forever at the base, sim lists, setups and how each coaches.

Updated 2026-10-15 · 4 min read

Carvana vs CarMax for selling your car online: offer window, drop-off, pickup fees and payment, side by side

Carvana and CarMax both give a 7-day online offer and pay on the spot. Where they differ: free drop-off, home pickup charges, plate lookups and the inspection clause.

Updated 2026-10-14 · 4 min read

Does this online car buyer serve your state? Coverage for Carvana, Wheelzy, WhipFlip and more

All 50 states, 45 states, the contiguous US, 86 branches or five states: what each car-buying site says about where it actually operates, and what to check first.

Updated 2026-10-13 · 4 min read

Best Forza Motorsport telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names Forza, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Forza: a free live voice engineer and three second-screen dashboards. What each does with Forza, what it costs, and the analysis gap.

Updated 2026-10-12 · 4 min read

Best RaceRoom telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists RaceRoom, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name RaceRoom: two free voice engineers, a dashboard with an AI instructor, overlays and a second-screen app. Prices from each site.

Updated 2026-10-11 · 4 min read

Sim racing telemetry on Mac: which apps run on macOS, which need a Windows PC, and what each costs

Only two of 20 verified sim racing tools state a Mac client. Here is what runs on macOS, what needs a Windows PC on the network, and what each costs.

Updated 2026-10-09 · 4 min read

Best Gran Turismo 7 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that names GT7, and what each costs

Four sim racing tools name Gran Turismo 7: a free live voice engineer, one paid coaching platform and two phone dashboards. What each does with GT7, and the cost.

Updated 2026-10-08 · 4 min read

Best rFactor 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists rF2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name rFactor 2: two free voice race engineers, one lap analyzer, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-07 · 4 min read

Best Automobilista 2 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists AMS2, and what each costs

Five sim racing tools name Automobilista 2: a live voice coach, two lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. All five are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-06 · 4 min read

Best Assetto Corsa telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the original AC, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name the original Assetto Corsa: two voice apps, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and three dashboards. Eight are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-05 · 4 min read

Best ACC telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists Assetto Corsa Competizione, and what each costs

Nine sim racing tools name Assetto Corsa Competizione on their own sites: three voice apps, four lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a dashboard. Six are free to start.

Updated 2026-10-04 · 4 min read

Best iRacing telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists iRacing, and what each costs

Thirteen sim racing tools name iRacing on their own sites: three voice apps, seven lap analyzers, an overlay suite and two dashboards. Ten cost nothing to start.

Updated 2026-10-03 · 4 min read

Best F1 25 telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists the game, and what each costs

Six sim racing tools list F1 25 on their own sites: two live voice coaches and four dashboard or telemetry apps. Four more name another F1 game or no version.

Updated 2026-10-02 · 4 min read

Best Le Mans Ultimate telemetry and coaching apps: every tool that lists LMU, and what each costs

Seven sim racing tools list Le Mans Ultimate on their own sites: two live voice coaches, three lap analyzers, an overlay suite and a second-screen dash.

Updated 2026-10-01 · 4 min read

Best sim racing overlays: which apps put telemetry on your screen, which are free and what the rest cost

Which sim racing apps draw overlays and HUDs over your game, which are free and what the paid tiers cost: RaceLab, SimHub, Trophi.ai and four more.

Updated 2026-09-30 · 4 min read

Can you sell a car without a title online? What each buyer states about titles, liens and paperwork

Which online car buyers take a car without a title, who handles a loan payoff, who does the title work free and who charges for it, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-29 · 4 min read

Which sim racing apps are still being updated? Version numbers, newest supported games and end-of-life notes, by tool

Trophi.ai and Track Titan list F1 26, Race Dash shows a June 2026 release, Crew Chief's games stop at F1 2019, iSpeed's Windows list at 8. What each site shows.

Updated 2026-09-28 · 4 min read

Sim racing software for teams and sim centers: who sells a team or commercial license, and what it costs

Trophi.ai's 3-license Team plan, RaceLab's €299 commercial seat, Z1 Dashboard Pro and Garage 61's free team data: what multi-driver and business use costs.

Updated 2026-09-21 · 4 min read

Are online car buyers legit? The track record each site actually states

Trustpilot scores, BBB grades, parent companies, branch counts and written guarantees: the proof each online car buyer puts on its own page, and what it leaves out.

Updated 2026-09-19 · 5 min read

Are free sim racing apps really free? What every free tier holds back

Track Titan, VRS, SimHub, RaceLab, Garage 61 and more: what each free sim racing tier includes, and the exact limit each tool's own site puts on it.

Updated 2026-09-18 · 4 min read

Will your online car offer drop at pickup? Which buyers guarantee the price, and which re-inspect first

Carvana, CarMax, Peddle, Wheelzy and more: which online car buyers say the quoted number is final, and which make it conditional on an inspection.

Updated 2026-09-17 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools that don't show a price: what SimHub, Popometer, Garage 61 and MoTeC actually tell you about cost

Eight sim racing tools sell a paid tier without printing the number. What each site does state, where the charge sits, and the priced rivals to compare against.

Updated 2026-09-16 · 5 min read

Do you have to buy a car to sell yours online? Which instant offers pay cash, and which double as trade credit

No buyer we track requires a purchase. KBB, EchoPark and Driveway state a trade path; AutoNation and WhipFlip state loan payoff. From each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-14 · 4 min read

Selling your car privately online: what PrivateAuto, Cars.com, KBB and Dealr charge, and what you still do yourself

PrivateAuto charges up to $179, Cars.com and KBB list free, Dealr charges $0 but takes up to two weeks. What each private-sale route handles, from its own site.

Updated 2026-09-13 · 4 min read

How to get multiple offers for your car online, and which sites reward you for shopping around

Every instant car offer we track is free and non-binding, and most last 7 days. How to line them up, who needs no account, and who pays extra when you compare.

Updated 2026-09-12 · 4 min read

Sim racing tools you can buy once: lifetime licenses, one-time unlocks and per-game DLC, by tool

Eight sim racing tools sell a perpetual license, one-time unlock, per-game DLC or donation key instead of a subscription. Prices and gaps, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-11 · 5 min read

Which sim racing apps control your hardware? Haptics, motion rigs, LEDs and button boxes, by tool

Only two sim racing apps drive bass shakers, motion rigs or haptics: SimHub and TrackPro. Two more turn a phone into a button box. Prices, from each site.

Updated 2026-09-10 · 5 min read

Human sim racing coaching vs AI coaching: which tools include a real coach, and what it costs

Only three sim racing tools sell time with a real coach: VRS by the session, Trophi.ai in a $699.99 annual plan, TrackPro as review credits. AI coaching starts free.

Updated 2026-09-09 · 4 min read

How long does an online car offer take? Quote times on Carvana, CarMax, Peddle and more

From 20 seconds to a few minutes: how fast each car-buying site says it shows an offer, what you must enter to get it, and when 'instant' comes with a catch.

Updated 2026-09-08 · 4 min read

Where to get pro reference laps and setups for sim racing, and what they actually cost

Which sim racing tools sell pro driver reference laps and setups, what each tier includes, and the free community-lap alternatives, from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-09-07 · 4 min read

Which sim racing tools coach you during the lap, and which only after

Live voice coaching or after-session analysis? Which sim racing tools intervene mid-lap, which wait until you stop, and what each one charges for it.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 5 min read

Which cars online buyers won't take: age limits, title rules and coverage gaps, by site

Model-year cutoffs, excluded vehicle types, no-title rules, regional coverage and condition clauses on instant-offer car sites, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-09-06 · 4 min read

Which online car buyers pick up your car from home, and who makes you drive to a store?

Eleven online car buyers tow or collect your car for free, Carvana and CarMax may charge for home pickup, and four make you drive in. From each site.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

What a sim racing coaching subscription actually costs per year

Monthly prices hide the real number. Here is what each paid sim racing coaching and telemetry tool costs over twelve months, taken from its own pricing page.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

The sim racing tools that need a second device, and which one

Several sim racing dashboards and telemetry apps will not run on the gaming PC alone. Here is what each one actually requires: a phone, a tablet, a network, or SimHub underneath.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Who actually buys your car when you sell it online

Instant-offer sites look identical from the outside and are not. Some are retailers buying for their own lot, some are salvage networks, and some never buy your car at all.

Updated 2026-08-31 · 3 min read

Which sim racing coaching apps support your sim? iRacing, ACC, Le Mans Ultimate and more

An iRacing driver can use every coaching tool we track; ACC, LMU, AMS2, F1 and GT7 drivers cannot. The sim-by-sim support rundown, from each app's own site.

Updated 2026-08-17 · 4 min read

Where to sell a damaged or non-running car online: the buyers who actually want it

Peddle, CarBrain, DamagedCars, Wheelzy and more — who buys totaled or non-running cars, how fast they pick up, and what the title rules are.

Updated 2026-08-11 · 3 min read

Sim racing telemetry on PS5 and Xbox: which apps actually work on console

Most sim racing telemetry and coaching apps are Windows-only. Here are the ones whose own sites list PS5, Xbox or Gran Turismo support — and the fine print.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How fast do you actually get paid when you sell your car online?

How and when Carvana, CarMax, Wheelzy, AutoNation and other car-buying sites actually pay — cash, check or Zelle, and what the inspection at handover changes.

Updated 2026-08-10 · 4 min read

How long does a car instant offer last? Every site's window, compared

Offer validity windows for Carvana, CarMax, AutoNation, Peddle, Cars.com, GiveMeTheVin and more — as stated on each site.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

"No fees" car buyers: what the fine print actually says

Which sell-your-car services are genuinely free to use, and where fees can still appear — pickup charges, titling fees and listing costs, from each site's own pages.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

Free vs paid sim racing coaching: what your money actually buys

What the free tiers of sim racing tools include, and what unlocks at each price point — from each tool's own pricing page.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read

How PickMerit verifies every entry

Our verification method: load the real site, record only what it states, mark everything else as unverified.

Updated 2026-07-24 · 1 min read